Love on the mountain top

I hope that title doesn’t sound risque… I assure you this post is totally innocent!

This weekend we set out to Shenandoah National Park for our anniversary hike. Chris, Scottie, and I climbed up to Turk Mountain and enjoyed some lunch and some amazing views, and we also did a little bit on the AT. It’s always so nice to take a day to ourselves where we get out and enjoy the outdoors. Thus far, our three years of marriage has been a lot of fun, and we have a lot to celebrate!

Later on we exchanged gifts. The traditional three year gift is leather. I gave Chris a hat that I knitted (well, I am knitting, but one of these days I’ll finish it for him) out of buffalo yarn! (I thought it was the coolest thing, and I figure it’s at least in the ballpark of animal hides.)

Chris remembered that I’d mentioned something in Seattle about wanting to start journaling so I could remember things, so he gave me an awesome leather journal cover from Saddleback Leather Company, and we’re working on finding the perfect Moleskine to put in it. Update: I am LOVING having a journal. I decided that one journal wasn’t enough, so now I’m journaling all our trips in the travel journal, and doing everyday journaling in the regular notebook.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

