Jingle Bells, Jingle Bells

We’ve been so busy traveling to see our families, working on Chris’s job market stuff (i.e. 150 job applications), and dealing with Scottie’s health issues that it took us a while to really get going on the Christmas festivities. Usually I am raring to go by the time Santa passes Macy’s, but not this year. It was slow and steady, but eventually we got into the spirit.

tumblr_lvmbugX0ez1r4v6k3o1_500_small

In early December, I went to Monticello with my coworkers for our annual wreath-making tradition. Chris has begged for lights every year, so this time  I went for it. I found some sweet, battery-operated lights at Michael’s (they even worked on a timer) and strung them in with the greenery. It’s a little hard to tell from the photo, because I took it during the day, but the wreath came out awesome. Everyone at the workshop thought the lights were a genius idea. Next year I’m gonna step it up and go for even more twinklies.

1217120824_small

The weekend of the 15th we did a Jingle Bell 5K at King’s Family Vineyard in Crozet, VA. I’d hurt my back the day before, so I took Scottie in his Santa suit, and he and I walked the course while Chris and our friends, Steph and Jasonn, did the run. It was a beautiful, peaceful, winter morning, and I had a great time strolling and listening to my Christmas music.

Susan Scottie Jingle Bell Run_small

That evening we had our 10th! annual Christmas movie night. Ever since Chris lived in DC, we’ve invited friends over to make merry while watching “National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation” and “It’s a Wonderful Life” – hands down the greatest Christmas movies of all time! We drank hard cider, sipped rum creams, munched on delicious Chinese takeout, and laughed our heads off at Clark Griswold and his antics.

My mom and dad arrived a few days ago… we’re really lucky we got to stay home for the holidays this year but still have them with us for the week. We had a lot of fun making peanut brittle, touring the neighborhood Christmas lights, getting holiday themed pedicures, playing in the snow flurries, and, of course, celebrating the big day with lots of food, friends, and PRESENTS!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

