A step

Today is my last day working at the Weldon Cooper Center for Public Service at UVa… and my first real step towards life in Florida.

I’ve worked at the Cooper Center for more than five years. I started here in January 2008, when I moved to Charlottesville from DC. I can’t believe it’s been that long. It’s crazy to think that I’ve worked here longer than I was at Clemson… longer than I was in high school… I’ve actually never gone to the same place every weekday for 5+ years, because I switched Elementary schools in 3rd grade. When I started here I didn’t even have the same name that I do now.

And all that time here has truly been a blessing. I’ve enjoyed going to work each day, and my colleagues are some of the best people one could ever hope to spend the majority of their waking hours with. There’s been some turnover over the last five years, and everyone who has come, gone, stayed, and retired has left a mark on my life. They’ve all taught me so much, both personally and professionally.

Demo Group Photo 1

On Monday I start my new job. It’s a job that I’m very excited about… one that is good for my career and that will transition with us to Tallahassee and make the move much easier on me and Chris. And I’m still going to see my Cooper Center colleagues over the next few months. There are a couple of projects I’ll be helping out with in my spare time, and once I know my new schedule I’ll start making lunch/walk/ice cream plans with everyone. But I’m going to miss seeing them regularly at the office, and the change is going to take some getting used to.

It’s a step… a good step, but definitely a bittersweet one.

Demo Group Photo 2

2 thoughts on “A step

Leave a Reply

