DIY Cooking Spray

I make a lot of household products from scratch, and I’m not sure why I haven’t shared more of them on my blog. My DIY laundry detergent post was pretty popular, so when I went to replenish my homemade cooking spray this weekend I realized that I should do a post about it.

Cooking spray is probably the easiest of all the things I make, and it’s a cheaper, much healthier, more environmentally friendly alternative to whatever you buy in the store. After the first batch, which takes about 5 minutes once you’ve obtained a spray bottle, the rest of your batches will take even less effort (spoiler alert: you’ll just have to pour two things into your bottle).

Here’s what you need for the first batch (the starred items are the only things you’ll need for future batches):

spray bottle

Sharpie

measuring cup

cooking oil (olive, vegetable, canola… up to you)*

water*

DIY Cooking Spray (2)

All you do is mix 5 parts water and 1 part oil in your spray bottle. If you’re the adventurous type, you can just wing it and not even bother with measuring. If you tend to like measuring and recipes I recommend doing the following. Figure out how much water you need to put in your spray bottle (bottle ounces x 5/6… see, I’m even doing the math for you). If you get an 8 oz spray bottle like I did, then you’ll need 6 2/3 oz water. Measure that amount in your measuring cup, and then pour it into your spray bottle. Mark the water line with your Sharpie and fill the rest of the bottle with the oil. Next time around you’ll just need to fill your bottle with water to the line and then with oil to the top. Easy peasy!

DIY Cooking Spray (1)

Just shake it up and spray. Works just as well as the store-bought stuff. Enjoy!

Posted in DIY

Leave a Reply

